User Permissions

From ProStar Geocorp
Revision as of 15:23, 4 September 2018 by WJessop (Talk | contribs)




Overview

This topic outlines the basic User Permissions functionality available in TransparentEarth.

The User Permissions functionality is used to create new users, to manage which users have access to which modules, and to define the actions available to each user.

Note: Only Super Administrators will have access to create, modify, or delete users in the system.

 

Generally speaking, there are four (4) roles available to users:

Role Title Description
Admin Grants the user all rights and privileges for a module.
Editor Allows a user to view, make additions, edits, and deletions.
Editor Only allows a user to view the information within a module. They cannot add, modify, or delete information within that module
Auditor Only allows a user to view the information within a module. They cannot add, modify, or delete information within that module.


Using Administration > User Permissions:

  1. Log into TransparentEarth.
  2. In the left side dashboard, click: Administration > User Permissions
     
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the left side dashboard, to see the Administration User Permissions dashboard. 
      
    From here, you can add and edit users and their access permissions.

To create a new user:

  1. Click the Create New User Account button. 
    The User Permissions dialog displays.
  2. Complete all necessary fields in the User Permissions dialog box. 
      
    Click the link below for details on User Roles and Permissions. 
    User Permission Details
Field Action Notes
User Name Enter the new users user ID. Must match the User ID exactly.
Password Enter the new user password.  
Confirm Password Re-enter the new user password.  
Full Name Enter the new user full name.  
Company Name Enter the new user company name.  
Job Title Enter the new user job title.  
Email Enter the new user email address.  
Business Phone Enter the new user office phone number.  
Mobile Phone Enter the new user mobile phone number.  
User Type Select from the drop-down list.  
Group Roles Assigned Module: For each module you select to make available to the user, you must also select the Permissions Level.    Permissions: All modules have 3 different permissions levels: Admin, Editor, Viewer. You must select one permission level for every module you assign to a user. Assigned Module: Selecting a check box next to a module allows a user to have access to the functions within that module. It will enable the proper icons and menu items to be available for that user to access that information.     Permissions: - Admin grants the user all rights and privileges for a module.   - Editor allows a user to view, make additions, edits, and deletions.   - Viewer only allows a user to view the information within a module. They cannot add, modify, or delete information within that module.   - Auditor only allows a user to view the information within a module. They cannot add, modify, or delete information within that module.
  Super Admin Select the Super Admin check box if this user should have access and permissions to all functions within TransparentEarth. Selecting the Super Admin role for a user grants this user access and read/write permissions to every piece of the TE application. This role should not be assigned often.
  Inspections: Grants users access to the PipeTally, Stringing, Weld Log, and Daily Report functions, as well as all of the applicable eForms.  
  Operation Maintenance: Grants users access to the Operation Maintenance Forms, Pigging Reports and Leak Report functions.  
  Integrity Management: Grants users to the DNV-GL Risk Integrity layers available within TE.  
  Job Book: Grants users applicable access to Job Books set up for SemGroup. Job Book Admin User:     Can add/remove/move/view documents to a folder.     Can add/remove/move folders. Job Book Editor user:     Can add/remove/move/documents.     CANNOT add/remove/move FOLDERS. Job Book Viewer user:     Can ONLY view documents.     CANNOT add/remove/delete documents.     CANNOT add/remove/move FOLDERS.

 


Click Yes at the first confirmation.Upon completion of the User Permissions dialog box, click the Save button (bottom right).

  1. Click OK at the second confirmation.
  2. Close the dialog box by clicking Close.
  3. Note: You might want to double-check your user set up by logging out of TransparentEarth and logging back in as that user.
  4. Once the user log in is confirmed, send the user their new User ID and Password.

 

To edit an existing user:

  1. In the left side dashboard, click: Administration > User Permissions.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the left side dashboard to see the Administration User Permission Dashboard.
  3. Use the Drill Down Filter to enter part or all of a user's ID or Name, and the user will display in the results grid.
  4. Click the Edit Existing User Record button. 
    The User Permissions dialog box displays.
  5. Edit the user as needed. 
    You can edit everything in the User Permissions dialog box except for the User ID. 
    NOTE: If you do edit a users password, email the user the new credentials after you have saved.
  6. Upon completion of the edits, click the Save button.
  7. Click Yes at the first confirmation.
  8. Click OK at the second confirmation.
  9. Close the dialog box by clicking Close.

 

To delete an existing user:

  1. In the left side dashboard, click: Administration > User Permissions.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the left side dashboard to see the Administration User Permission Dashboard.
  3. Use the Drill Down Filter to enter part or all of a users ID or Name, and the user will display in the results grid.
  4. Click the Edit Existing User Record button. 
    The User Permissions dialog box displays.
  5. Click the Delete button.
  6. NOTE: Deleting a user completely removes the user from the system. Their data is NOT removed. Disabling a user removes their login access but their name can still be seen in the list. They do NOT have access to TE or PM and their data is NOT removed.
  7. Upon completion of the edits, click the Save button.
  8. Click Yes at the first confirmation.
  9. Click OK at the second confirmation.
  10. Close the dialog box by clicking Close.